Brush with Greatness – Cyndi Lauper

So, to continue my semi-random series on Brushes with Greatness, I will highlight my brush with Cyndi Lauper.

I don’t know how the ex scored these tickets, but at the time, we lived in Westborough, Massachusetts.  December 4, 1986, we had tickets to see Cyndi at the Worcester Centrum, about 40 minutes from where we lived.  I didn’t know many people attended, but we somehow lined up babysitting for the night and off we headed further west to Worcester – pronounced Were Ster.

Anyway, it was the True Colors tour, and I was then and am still a Cyndi fan, so it was awesome that we got to go backstage and meet her.  Many people lined up for pictures with her and the ex said I should do it.  I feel so silly now, but I noticed before hand and while standing beside her that she had lipstick on her teeth.  So, I told her, and she wiped it off, and we got a picture of that after.  I have it somewhere.  I still feel silly for saying, “Hey, Cyndi, you have lipstick on your teeth!” but in a way, I feel like she probably appreciated the candor.  I know I would have.

So, there is another brush with Greatness.  Do you have any?

2 thoughts on “Brush with Greatness – Cyndi Lauper”

  1. Cyndi has been on one of our music reality shows a few times and she comes across as a really lovely person. I’m sure she appreciated the lipstick warning. A lovely memory for you and your husband. I once briefly danced with a prime minister – in one of those progressive things. It was a local deb ball in his constituency. I was almost overcome with awe, and guilt because I didn’t vote for him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

