Secrets/Tips – Cutting Part 2

More on cutting dirty little secrets and tips – Volume 2.  We continue at #7.

7.  Scratched or nicked a ruler or template with the rotary cutter.  Did I say these things are sharp and/or dangerous?   So, your grip slipped, and the rotary cutter made a nice nick or cut on the edge or top of your ruler.  Have you NEVER done this?  Let me know your secret!!!  I have a 16 1/2 X 16 1/2 inch lapboard I use to crop blocks evenly, but the corner by the “1” is a bit trimmed away.  I try to accommodate for it, but it’s a bit of a bother.It’s my bad for, you know, cutting the ruler. Agh!

Also, with the rulers, sometimes your rotary cutter or arm develops mind of it’s own and skips up from the fabric onto the top of the ruler.  I dont’ know how this happens.  I’m just glad that so far my fingers have not been in the wayTip:  Try to start an inch into the edge of your square – cut backwards to cover that inch and then forwards to your square.   As far as the rotary cutter developing a mind of it’s own, I don’t have a solution for that other than it must be a user error.  How so, I’m not sure.  Enlighten me!

8.  Dropped the rotary cutter open accidentally onto the floor (and luckily didn’t take off part of your toe!)  I don’t know how these rotary cutters get so slippery sometimes, but I have done this a couple times at least.  I check the tile floor afterwards, and one time had no marks, another time, there was a 1/2 inch small slice in the tile.  Dang!  Did I say these things were sharp?  Tip:  I don’t know what to say except keep a good grip on these cutters or just use scissor and maybe always wear steel toe shoes when cutting?!

9.  Lost the rotary cutter (hopefully closed) under a pile of fabric.  You are cutting several pieces at once or several fat quarters or strips or blocks, and set the closed rotary cutter down between cuts, shift things around and suddenly – Where did that thing go?  Hopefully, you closed it, so when you shift through everything to find it,  you don’t cut yourself.  Tip:  Always close the rotary cutter after each cut.  And set it  somewhere other than on your cutting surface. 

 A few more cutting tips to follow, have you learned anything so far?

 

One thought on “Secrets/Tips – Cutting Part 2”

  1. Wise advice, Suzy. My heart is in my mouth whenever I uncover one of those things! I have a nifty paper cutter for cutting straight lines for my scrapping, so haven’t used a rotary for quite some time. Doesn’t it make the hair on the back of your neck stand up when you have a near miss, though!

    I don’t want to own up to not getting back into some quilting yet! I do think about it each week when I make the bed. But I have been drawn back into handcraft – taking part in a 60 day ‘index-card-a-day’ challenge. I’m not getting any writing done though. Now I must check out your other posts.

Leave a Reply

