MSQC- Disney World for Quilters!

For many of you quilters out there, you know what MSQC stands for – the Missouri Star Quilt Company.  If you’ve ever looked up quilting tutorials on YouTube, you’ve probably seen Jenny Doan, the owner and creator of the Missouri Star Quilt Company giving tutorials on making quilts and other things quilted.    She loves using precuts  and saying things like “awesome”, “this is so much fun.” and “isn’t it adorable?”.   Her enthusiasm  and cheerful disposition makes you want to go out and buy tons of fabric and start putting together quilt tops as soon as possible!

MSQC is located in Hamilton, Missouri, which happens to be about 4 1/2 hours from where I live.  I’ve known about this place for a couple of years and always said I wanted to go visit there, but hadn’t done it yet.  My friend and I talked about going for about a year now, and we finally decided to go last weekend for an overnight trip.  They were having a car show, quilt show, prizes and lots of things going on, so it seemed like a good time to go.

In just six short years, Jenny has gone from having just one shop to now having five shops that sell  fabric and other quilting supplies and even a bed and breakfast so quilters can come and stay overnight on a retreat.  They are also in the process of refurbishing two other buildings  that I’m not even sure what their use will be, and someone told us with the plans that they have, when they are done, there will be somewhere in the teens of buildings and shops!  It’s like a small empire!

Needless to say, after a 4 1/2 hour drive and before we knew all this expansion information, my friend and I were anxiously hoping that the trip was worth it.  I can report with extreme honesty that it certainly was well worth the trip!   Not only did I get to meet Jenny Doan,  I also got to see the Batik Boutique  and visit the Main shop which carries a large selection of wide quilt backing and many other calicoes. They also had the largest selection of flannel prints I’ve ever seen.  The Mercantile, a few doors down, was a store totally devoted to vintage and reproduction fabrics, which I love the 30’s and 40’s reproductions because they remind of old quilts my Grandma did.  One of the stores had all holiday prints, such as Christmas, Halloween, and the Fourth of July.   And then there was the store devoted to novelty prints  and a very large selection of solids (Penney’s Quilt Shop – Hamilton is the home and birthplace of J.C. Penney!)  And all of the stores had the most precuts I had ever seen – layer cakes, charm packs, jelly rolls, fat quarter bundles, and more.  They even have a burger place and a bakery!

I also got to meet Angela Waters and bought one of her books. My friend bought a wide selection of fabric for various projects.  I bought my first jellyroll – which I can’t wait to unroll!

While talking to Angela, I said, “I’m so overwhelmed and have no specific projects in mind so I don’t even know where to begin!”

Angela replied, “This place is like Disney World for quilters. The first time I came here I felt like my head was going to explode!”

If you’ve thought about visiting the MSQC but felt unsure it was worth the time, effort, or money – imagine a Main Street where every other shop is owned and operated by the MSQC. Then, plan your days or weekend, pack your bags, and head on over. You won’t be disappointed!

2 thoughts on “MSQC- Disney World for Quilters!”

  1. Sounds like quilter’s heaven! How clever to have a car show in town so husbands can be enticed to come.

    It got the better of me, I looked up images to see what a jellyroll is, now I get it. And then I thought to type glossary in the search terms and got an indepth description to precuts. And I will kick myself if you have one here already. 🙂

Leave a Reply

