Secrets/Tips – Fabric Selection & Design 2

Continuing on with Fabric Selection and Design tips.  Some things, I’m not sure what category they belong in, so I just slap it in someplace. Just an FYI.

4.  Had a quilt or fabric drag on the floor and get dusty – Yes, no matter how hard you try to keep things pristine, this seems to happen to any quilt larger than a throw while you are ironing, sewing or quilting.  This is one reason why I like my tile floor, sweep before the big projects, and always wash my finished project before giving it to the receiver.

5.  Bought fabric you really didn’t “need” or have a specific purpose for – I know, you’ve all heard of a quilter’s “stash” – where do you think this name comes from?  Sometimes, you just like that little fat quarter and want to own it, even though you have NO ideas for it and NOTHING else it would go with.  I got a lot of fabric from Mom’s stash, so I’m not as guilty of this as some, perhaps.  I also have a general rule to make all efforts to use something in my stash before going out to buy things.  However, I will say, I do own a few fat quarters that I just “liked”.  Multiply that times a few years or decades, I can see how these things can grow!

6.  Don’t think you have enough fabric  in your “stash”.  I know this seems counter-intuitive to the above #5 – but think about, it really isn’t!

7.  Have so many ideas for projects you want to do, you are not sure you can get them all done in your lifetime.  How many quilt book pages do you have tabbed or earmarked?  How many quilt magazines do you subscribe to?  How many ideas of your own do you have that you just can’t seem to get around to or find out they are more complex than you thought?    I’ve come to realize, quilting is really a creative endeavor, so, yes, you are most likely going to have more ideas than you can finish!  I’m sure when you consider other famous artists, famous or not, they did, too.

That’s all for today.  Let me know of your tips/secrets.  Stay tuned for Fabric Selection and Design 3.  Perhaps I’ll make that post longer.

 

2 thoughts on “Secrets/Tips – Fabric Selection & Design 2”

Leave a Reply

