Color Theory

I watched  a block of the month class on Craftsy about Color Theory.  I thought I was really bad at blending colors, but I found out I knew more than I thought

What I learned about color:

1.  Even if it’s a print, a fabric will “read” a certain color.  Usually, it’s the background, but if you have say a navy print, with red and gold stars, the fabric will most likely still “read” as a navy.  Also, white stars or dots may have the fabric “read” lighter than it actually is.  Also, saturation of the print can change the “read” of a fabric.

2.  Analogous colors are groups of colors that are adjacent to each other on the color wheel, with one being the dominant color, which tends to be a primary or secondary color, and two on either side complementing, which tend to be tertiary.

3. Complementary colors are opposite each other on the color wheel, and usually go well together, i.e., red and green, purple and yellow (or gold), and blue and orange.  There are others, obviously, but I’m not going to name them all here.  This I also actually knew, maybe from middle school art class? Gee, Mr. Brown, I may have actually remembered something! (Yes, my art teacher’s name was really Mr. Brown!)

4.  I need to print or make my own color wheel from fabrics.  I think this will help me with color choices for quilts.  Then again, maybe it won’t because I actually am better at color theory than I thought.

That’s about it for what I learned on color theory (click here for a Wikibooks explanation).  Actually, there may be more, but I can’t remember it right now.  Take the Craftsy Block of the Month 2014 (it’s free), and maybe you’ll learn something.   I’ll probably watch the class again, even though the quilt they made was  C R A Z Y !!!

Leave a Reply

