That’s just weird food, mom!

More on that family gathering.  Yes, we had the sour cream/buttermilk debate, but a few other things came up.  Tell  me what you think.

I put marshmallows on the baked beans after they came out of the oven.

Daughter: Marshmallows on the baked beans, that’s weird.

Me: I always do that.

Daughter: I don’t remember you doing that. (to SIL) Have you ever had marshmallows on baked beans?  Do you think it’s strange?

SIL: I don’t know, I don’t think so.  It is kind of weird.

Me: Dad, have you ever had marshmallows on baked beans.

Dad: Mom used to do it.

Me: Well, at least I didn’t put them in the cole slaw.

Daughter: Eww, that would also be weird.

Me: Dad, have you ever had marshmallows in cole slaw?

Dad: Mom used to do that.

Me: See, it’s not weird.

Daughter: Just because Grandma used to do it doesn’t mean it isn’t weird.

Me: Well, if you think that’s bad, you should watch Frankenfood.

Niece: I haven’t seen that, what kind of things did they do?

Me: Well, they put together chocolate and bacon.

Daughter: Eww, that is weird.

Me: Well, actually, I think it was like a giant chocolate chip cookie with bacon on top. I can’t remember exactly.

Daughter: Hmm, that sounds kind of good like that.

Me: So, how were those baked beans?

I can’t remember anyone complaining, but I can’t remember them raving about them either.

But, I’m sure that at the next family gathering, someone will say, “What, no marshmallows?”

Do you have any weird family food traditions?

 

Leave a Reply

