Because…

OMG, another super weird thing happening – Firefox and Safari are not working but IE is.  Crap, and all my bookmarks, etc. are in Firefox!

Hubby says tonight at dinner that he usually watches everything video wise in Google Chrome, and it hasn’t been working on his 6-8 year old laptop.  Although it did fine until two days ago and he doesn’t know why it suddenly stopped working!

OMG, is that my problem tonight? How old is this computer?  How do I find out?  I know it’s nothing less than -6 years old, but how do I know?  Why did this font suddenly increase in size?  All on it own, seemingly?

What is going on, back to original font size?   OMG!

So, weird things are still happening these day while the grandkids are here.

Tonight, me and my daughters took HIMYM and Friends character quizzes on BuzzFeed and PlayBuzz to see which character we were.

Two of us Monica on one, the other Rachel. Then, I said, I would never be Barney, and we took HIMYM quizzes – two Marshalls, and I was Barney!

Now, even though IE is working, it is incrediby slow and stupid, and almost stopped responding? Agh!!!

So, we saw this cricket crawling across the floor in the living room, and then it went under the couch.  Later, we were sitting taking quizzes and talking, and the little cricket came out again.  High school daughter (#2) stepped on it with my flip flop, two or three times to kill it,  picked it up with a flyswatter, and I told her put it in the toilet and flush it, not in the trash, because it might not be dead yet, and I said – “I don’t ever kill crickets, I get a jar and take them outside.” and they were both like “Why?” and I said…

“Because… Jimminy Cricket from Pinnochio.” and because I heard it is bad luck to kill a cricket.

And they were “What?”

And, I said, also “I don’t eat deer.” and they were like, “okay, why?” and I said, “Because…a) yucky, and b) Bambi and his mom and my dad once killed a doe, and brought it home, and I remember someone carrying me down to the basement to see the dead deer that was in the cellar steps, and I remember her laying there, head to the floor, body on the stairs, and neck askew, bent backwards, clearly dead.  But also, I asked my dad within the past 6 year why I don’t remember having deer meat or deer stew, and he said, “I killed one deer, and that time I tried stew, sausage, frying, baking, etc, but I just didn’t care for deer meat.”

And then, a bit later, I went the bathroom, and came out to say, “Always flush the dead bugs.” BECAUSE Jimminy was still floating, and daughter #2 says, “I did.” and I said, “Learn!  This is why you always watch to see that they actually do go down!”

And, they said, I wasn’t hip, even though I know peoples are saying this “Because” thing right now, and it’s like current and trendy, “Because, no, how could you be current or trendy being like a Grandma and 53 years old and you must be totally out of it.” or something, Well, duh, of course, that’s exactly why I was saying it!

Okay, so I don’t know a lot of current lingo, but I do know some – even if I am still not sure I understand what a meme is.

So, yes, even though I am not a teenager born between 1995 and 2001, or in my 30’s born between 1975 and 1984, I was a child of the 60’s, albeit born in 1961, so yes, I’m not the hippie culture, but I knew about it later on in the 70’s, etc. So, duh, I can still act like I’m hip, aye?

Then, later, I have to close and lock the back gate “Because, son is coming to visit with dogs!” And, my teenage daughte was saying “like, why are you doing this?” and I said “Because, like ‘dogs’ tomorrow.” and she was like, “Oh, Mom…”

And, I am now like, “Am I past the age of being cool?  Perhaps so.   Aww,  Fonzie, I’m sorry, we aren’t “Cool” anymore!”

Like, “Because, aging sucks?”. . . .

Leave a Reply

