Reader’s Anonymous or RA

Reader’s Block

What’s the longest you’ve ever gone without reading a book (since learning how to read, of course)? Which book was it that helped break the dry spell?

Another wonderfilled topic!

I have a problem. Yes, I will freely admit it.  If I start reading a book that interests me in the least, I can’t put the book down except to eat and sleep, almost. Yes, I’ll go to work, make dinner, take showers, but all other household duties will be procrastinated to the absolute last minute until I finish the last page of said novel(s).

For this reason, sometimes I can go a year or four without reading a book.  I wish I could be one of those people that can read a book a few pages here and there between all the other things that NEED to be done or a few pages before bed.  Unfortunately, for me, those other things, when I really think about it, don’t NEED to be done right this minute and can wait, and so can bedtime.

Call it obsessive, call it compulsive, whatever it is, I know I have had this problem since I was a teenager.  I have another related problem, too.

I like series of books.

Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice, Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean Auel, Harry Potter by J.K. Rowlings,  Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, Stephanie Meyers – Twilight, Dan Brown, and Suzanne Collins, Hunger Games.  Not to mention those I can’t imagine getting into like the Bourne series, Jack Ryan – Tom Clancy, Sue Grafton (A is for Alibi, etc.), J.R.R. Tolkien, Divergent, Chronicles of Narnia, Lemony Snicket, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Sherlock Holmes, the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew. Oh my gosh, I just realized I’d like to read some of those series!

Because of this sickness, I plan accordingly. I don’t pick up a book or visit the library unless I have the time to, well, I hate to call it waste, more like spend, right? If I have lots going on, the library is off limits unless it’s a book I need at the moment, like a quilting book or a book on mediation – something I’m currently learning, something I can read or skim one book for, and get one with it.

Once every few  years or more, I read Gone With the Wind.  I’ve done this since high school.  I’m about due for another read.

So, yeah, there is no “breaking of a dry spell”.  I bloody well know my limitations.  When I’m dang good and ready to devote pretty much my life to reading a novel or series of them, I’ll do so, but I just can’t do it ALL the time.

Yes, I just finished the Outlander Series again, but I think it’s been 2 or 3 years since I did one of my marathon reads.  Will it be that long until the next one?  Who knows?

Can  you recommend a good series?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Reader’s Anonymous or RA”

  1. I wish! It’s been a long time since I became really engrossed in a series and kept wanting more. Now I read the book for my book group and that’s it. I’ve started a couple but just lost interest before I finished the second in the series.

  2. I cannot believe this! I thought I was a slacker, but you put my reading practice into perspective. I do the exact same thing. When the characters in a book pull me in, I put my life on hold – except of course mandatory duties as you mentioned. 😀

Leave a Reply

