Tea for Two or Three

Counting Voices

A lively group discussion, an intimate tête-à-tête, an inner monologue — in your view, when it comes to a good conversation, what’s the ideal number of people?

We have all been in group meetings, office business lunches, friends and family get-togethers, parties, restaurants, bars and clubs, and such.  You recall the bee-hive like hum of voices in large group settings when you step out into the hall. And, as you open the doors to go back in, how the noise is so overwhelming you feel like you can’t even hear yourself think?

At almost all of the above, except a business meeting, people break off into groups of 2 or more, usually not more than 5 or so, right?  And, even then, in any one group, only one person can do that talking at one time.  Have you ever actually not felt like talking and just hovered on the outskirts of a group, just listening and/or watching?

So, for heartfelt, intimate conversation, two would be optimum, no?  3, 4 or even 5 can still be a pretty nice conversation, but probably doesn’t lend itself as well to close encounters.

And, what’s this about inner monologue?  Doesn’t “mono” mean one?  Let me think, do I have conversations with myself and there is more than one voice inside my head?  No, I don’t think so, unless I actually pretend such.  How that that bode with the saying “It’s okay to talk to yourself as long as you don’t answer”? But, isn’t that the point of talking to yourself? To hash things out, come up with solutions, better understand a situation or your own feelings on the matter?

Here’s a better question – is it just me or do some of these daily prompts kind of (well, there is no better word for it) suck?

And, now back to quilting.  Yes, I’m actually working on a quilt throw of blocks my mother did.  I have the top sewn and have now started quilting.  Unfortunately, I still haven’t found someone to piece things for me so I can stick with my favorite part of quilting – free-motion machine quilting.  I’ll probably spend less time quilting than cutting, piecing and sewing.  Aww, yes, poor me, right?

I’ll put up pictures as soon as I am finished, which will probably be within the next couple days.

 

Leave a Reply

