Tearful Moments

Moved to Tears

Do movies, songs, or other forms of artistic expression easily make you cry? Tell us about a recent tear-jerking experience!

Yes.

I don’t cry much, but movies, songs, tv shows, and even my own writing can move me to tears.

I cried when I saw “Saving Mr. Banks” this past weekend.

I cried a few times when I re-read “Outlander” and the second book in the series, “Dragonfly in Amber”.  I’ll probably cry several more times through the next 6 books of that series. BTW, it’s a new series on Starz, and I recommend it.  Five episodes so far, and I’m loving it.

I cry when I hear “Heaven” by Tim Grimm.  Why, because the funeral director played it for our small town and farming family visitation for my Mom and two days later for my Grandma.  We were all bawling.

I cried buckets as I wrote the first few posts on my blog recalling how I got into quilting, mostly because I wanted to finished projects that Mom had started.

I cried when I wrote the Mourning Dove poem, The Night Before He Left,  a Brief Interlude or Fanfare, and The Texas Rangers Choked, and probably a few more.

Can a photo make me cry? Yes, I think I have cried viewing pictures.  Paintings and sculptures don’t have as much emotional impact on me, however. Why is that?

I cried when I left my granddaughter knowing it would be a while before I saw her and held her again, and when I did, she wouldn’t still have that newborn feel about her.

I cry sometimes when I hear “Time” from Hootie and the Blowfish, almost every time I see “Bridges of Madison County” or “Cousins”, and virtually every time I see the episode of Friends where Ross and Rachel fight and he comes back to the cafe door.

Yes, all these things make me cry – but now I wonder, have any of my posts ever made you cry?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Tearful Moments”

  1. From memory, Suzy, I’m pretty sure my eyes moistened when I read about you losing your mother and grandmother within days of each other. ❤ Thanks for the links to the poems, some I hadn't seen before. The Mourning Dove is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

