In which I’m now a woman of leisure

I chose my title today based on this one particular blog I follow.  A lot of her posts begin with “In which”, and here is just one post:

In which there was garlic. 

The title of the blog is All Fooked Up, which is kind of how I feel about today (actually started this on the 2nd) and why I chose the title I did.

I can’t go into anything except to say that I was “let go” from my job this morning.  I’m not sure if it was a downsizing, my job performance (although my boss said he’d be happy to write a letter of recommendation because my technical skills are “fine”, so why am I being let go?), but, the truth is I kind of have been wondering if it was coming and me knowing not that my job was bad or anything, just kind of boring after 8 years.

I wanted to be upset, and, who can say that being “let go” does suck, and it always does, but in truth, I was actually happier and felt more relieved than I have in a while. Not that my job was bad in any way or anything like that, it’s just, I think I have outgrown it.

So, now I’m job hunting, or maybe looking for something temporarily because I might just go to my daughter’s house come January and take care of my grandkids until Spring Break, cause I’d really enjoy the change of pace, cause it’s something I “want” to do, cause she’d like not to put her baby into daycare until she has to, cause I’d enjoy the bloody heck out of it, but when it comes right down to it, when am I ever going to have a chance to do this again!?

Now, if only I can make the financials work for the next few months, still able to pay my monthly bills, and have enough to be able to take a couple months off – that’s the question.

Not to be bragging, but I think I’m a touch “smarter than the average bear” and I hope I can figure this out or have providence step in and deal me a much needed “here you go when you may not have expected it”, or otherwise pinch and finagle my way to allow this fortuitous eveny to occur.

Let’s just say at 53, I’m rethinking my dreams, goals, and plans for the future.

At least I have time to clean and organize my house and my quilting stuff now, which I’ve been too busy to do for quite some time and it’s sorely needed!

I wish you all well.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

