Sounds Write

Sounds Right

This is clearly subjective, but some words really sound like the thing they describe (personal favorites: puffin; bulbous; fidgeting). Do you have an example of such a word (or, alternatively, of a word that sounds like the exact opposite of what it refers to)? What do you think creates this effect?

I found out there is an actual word for this, uh, phenomenon.  Auto-antonym.

So, I found out this was a word, and then found it was a thing in Samuel Beckett’s Stirring Stills.

Which I then to linked to “As the Story Was Told“, and then found

As the Story was Told, Uncollected and Late Prose by Samuel Beckett.  The hardcover was done September 1992.

Now, I don’t know squat about this author, but I do know that anyone by the name of Samuel Beckett, being as I am a Quantum Leap fan, well, I’m so checking this out.  That this “As the Story was Told, Uncollected and Late Prose” on Amazon has absolutely NO review even interests me more.

I’m going to check this out and get back with you.

 

Leave a Reply

