Bologna and jelly

Unlikely Pairing

Bacon and chocolate, caramel and cheddar… Is there an unorthodox food pairing you really enjoy? Share with us the weirdest combo you’re willing to admit that you like — and how you discovered it.

The first time the other night, I was watching Frankenfood. It made me think about a sandwich I made a lot when I was in high school.  I don’t remember all the details, but I think I remember it mostly.

My sandwich had bologna (which my mom bought a lot), mayonnaise (usually Miracle Whip), mustard, jelly – and sometimes, a leaf of lettuce, butter pickles, or a slice of American cheese.

I don’t know why, but this was sort of my signature sandwich until my friend turned me onto toast with mayo and tomatoes.  I didn’t know about BLT’s at the time, so I guess this could have been a poor man’s BLT.

I am gluten free these days, and most gluten free breads that I have found fairly suck. I found one I thought was okay, but when I went back to the store I thought I bought it from, they no longer carried it.

As a result, I don’t eat a lot of sandwiches these days.  I rarely cheat on the gluten free (not that I’ve been diagnosed with Celiac but because of my hypothyroid – so gluten interferes with that), but I’ve found lately, it’s probably not worth it.  At the time my doctor suggested it, I was having an occasional asthma attack, something that popped up after a bad cold and would come on with no warning, for no apparent reason.

Once I went gluten free, the asthma subsided to the point where I haven’t used the one inhaler I had prescribed to me in over two years or more.  And, the only time I have had to use it was usually when I had pizza the day before.  Okay, I’ll admit, I do miss pizza probably the most.

Gluten free pretzels, pasta,  pancakes, cereal, cookies, and brownies are okay even good, and some cake, but pizza crust, bread (even though I hate white bread), and graham crackers (most crackers) don’t compare.

Still, I’m doing okay with it mostly.  Sometimes I miss things, and I cheat a bit, having a bite – but I’m finding more and more, as I wake up with a stuffy nose the day after having a grilled cheese sandwich, it’s probably what I need to do.

I grew up in a family of farmers.  Even though wheat wasn’t the only crop, it usually was planted in one field of three or four.  My brother works at a flour mill.  This whole gluten free thing really rages against family moors, but what can I do about that?  It just works for me, and I don’t like it, and I wish it wasn’t so, but it is what it is.

So bologna, jelly, mayo and mustard sandwiches – I haven’t had one of those in many, many years, and especially now, not as appealing.

Do you have a weird combination that works for you?

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bologna and jelly”

  1. I love tomato and toast. Yum. I’ll never go without pizza, methinks. Try stuffing red or green pepper halves with the pizza toppings. I’m sure that would satisfy the pizza palate – even if you didn’t actually eat the capsicum base. 🙂

Leave a Reply

