What to do, Sequels?

Missing Seqeuls

If you could create a sequel to one favorite (standalone) movie, which would it be? How would it build on the original?

First of all, I wanted to point out that the title at the Daily Prompt was spelled wrong.  See it.  I copied that over from the prompt site.  I didn’t type that. That’s the title, people!

Secondly, I’d like to say, I haven’t been in the blogging habit lately.  I don’t know what’s going on.  I seem to be out of routine.  I’ve started a few posts, put in the Daily Prompt, clearly having some idea, got sidetracked or interrupted, saved draft, gone back the next day to stare at the page and wonder, “What was going to write?”  only to draw a few blanks.

Maybe part of my writer’s block, and even lately quilter’s block, stems from it being summer and wanting really to go and do only to come home wishing I had someplace to go and do or someone to go and do with.  Hubby works late, usually not getting home till after 7 or 8.  Not exactly the time to be going and doing for those of us over 50. Or is it?

I guess part of it is because my daughter is at her sister’s, at first Auntie was to watch sissy’s little one when she went to the hospital, but now she is helping out with her first niece.  Even though she is 17 and pretty self-sufficient, I have noticed that I drive home now, knowing the house is empty and realizing how much I looked forward to seeing her when I came home, even if it was to hand her the keys to my car and see her leave. I realize now, I may not like that empty nest thing, and perhaps it’s a good thing she was the “ours” baby, 9 years after my youngest.  Yes, I could have been potentially, a “free” woman/mom 8 years ago, which I always looked forward to and relished the thought, and now, I’m wondering.

Still, I suppose, once she really is gone, I’ll reclaim her room for quilting, get better organized, and be able to do something when I get home after work each night.  Right now, unless I have a project going, I kind of stumble around with ideas, and since all my quilting tools, fabric, sewing machine, etc. are not in the same room, I get apathetic or distracted.  Still, I’m working on coming up with a “system” so I always have a quilt in some stage going on, something to do each night.

Oh, and yes, I’m a Grandma again.  Maybe that’s what has me distracted.  I did drive up and back yesterday to get a peek at my baby’s baby.  She’s so little!  And, so far, she was so good, not crying too much, just sleeping most of the time we were there, which was several hours.

Of course, she wasn’t put down much.  I remember her older brother didn’t like to be put down.  We had to take shifts for sleeping, or sleep with him while sitting up on the sofa.  Unfortunately, my daughter didn’t and doesn’t have a recliner. Not that I mind holding infants, but if someone wasn’t holding him those first few weeks, he would wake up after 10 minutes and start fussing.

This sweet girl slept away in Mommy’s, Daddy’s, Grandpa’s, Auntie’s and my arms, barely making a peep.  But, I feel that if we had laid her down, she would have kept right on sleeping.

Of course, I told my daughter, I think a lot of her calmness has to do with her parent’s calmness.  Second babies are easier because you don’t have all those “this is my first kid, what’s going on, why is he doing that” stress from every little thing, which I think the baby picks up on, thereby causing a circle of stress for everyone.

As far as this daily prompt goes – I looked up a few lists other people suggested.  Some were movies I hadn’t even seen.  Some were movies that had sequels, just not #3, 4 or 5.  Really?  Some, I didn’t think needed a sequel.

But, from the several lists of 10, 20 and even 40 movies some suggested, I didn’t see one that jumped out at me as “I wish they had made that!”

There are, however, a couple of TV series that ended that I think might make a good made for TV movie or theatrical release sequel, maybe, maybe not, but I’d probably want to see them, if only on DVD or tv.  In no particular order, here they are (spoiler alerts!!!!!):

  • Frasier – Remember the end?  He’s on a plane supposedly for his new job in San  Francisco, but it’s really Chicago.  Wouldn’t you like to know how that turned out?  Or is it better off left unsaid?
  • How I Met Your Mother – If you watched it, it ended just a couple months ago.  Some were disappointed by the ending, some not.  My daughter was.  At first, I wasn’t, but then, I kind of was.  Course, the series was told to Ted’s kids, in like 2030 or something, so it’s already the future – maybe in 2030, they’ll tell us how it turned out with him and Robyn.
  • Dexter – Now, I didn’t watch the last season, but was waiting for it to come out on DVD, which it has, and my daughter, who got me into the series in the first place finally said, “Don’t bother. Most disappointing series finale ever.”  Basically, I’m the kind of person who can hear all the spoilers and still enjoy watching, even knowing the ending, and it doesn’t really spoil it for me.  I used to, if a book was really good, go back and read the last couple paragraphs, once I was into the book enough to know I’d finish it, to see what happened.     Even so, I’d still read the book and enjoy it! So, I wonder if someday, probably in a few years, a Dexter movie would satisfy everyone – and give a proper ending to the series.
  • One of my very favorites of all time – Quantum Leap – Many a fan are dissatisfied with the series ending.  I don’t know if I am one of them, as I was particularly partial to the Al/Beth episode M.I.A. – and cried every time I saw it, every time!  So, this series finale wrapped that up for me in a semi-tight and satisfactory ribbon – so I can’t say I was TOTALLY disappointed with the finale.  Still, I wonder, did he really never return?  What happened to him, Al, Beth, his wife?  Did he have a child?  What happened to the Quantum Leap project? So many questions!

And that’s all I can think of right now?  Do you agree with an want to see any of them?  Of course, Friends, was a thought, but I kind of feel that series ended on a high note.

 

 

2 thoughts on “What to do, Sequels?”

  1. Congratulations on becoming a Grandma again 🙂
    Did you see the follow-up film of ‘Friends’? I did like like that very much.

Leave a Reply

