I did it – I applied for my dream job!

Recently, I posted about applying for a really neat position.

Should I apply?

I don’t know if any of you are interested, but I DID IT!  I applied for what I consider to be a dream job.  I know it will be a lot of hard work, but it also sounds like a lot of fun, something I’m very much interested in, something I would enjoy.

At the age of 52, I don’t know if it’s normal or not, but do you ask yourself “Why am I doing something I’m not even remotely thrilled about?”

Well, recently, I have.  I don’t know if I hear that clock ticking in the background (not my biological baby clock) or see that roll of toilet paper (time) going faster, but I wonder, “Does it matter that I’m bored at my job and feel the desire to do something I’d enjoy so much more?  If I don’t do it now, when will I get the chance?”

I know, technically, I’m “middle-aged”, but in the working world, I’m well over half way done, right?   Well, yes, I know, some go on well into their 70’s, and I’m in the generation that supposedly will not have Social Security to fall back on (I don’t know how that’s going, btw), so I may have to continue working till my mid 70’s.  But, do I see myself doing what I am doing then?  It’s so hard to picture that.

My Aunt is still working, at her own church, as the secretary, and she’s, oh, man, should I reveal that?  Will she hate me?  Okay, let’s just say if retirement is typically 66, she has gone past that a little bit.   But, after talking with her tonight, I wonder if she thinking about doing the things she has always wanted to do, which may mean retiring?

I used to have a favorite quote about playing the lottery, “You can’t win if you don’t buy a ticket.”  I guess the same applies here.  You can’t get your dream job if you don’t apply (or write, or invent, or whatever).

So, I’m doing the fire dance, and as Dave Matthews Band once said, “I did it.”

2 thoughts on “I did it – I applied for my dream job!”

Leave a Reply

