I don’t want to grow up

Adult Visions

As a kid, you must have imagined what it was like to be an adult. Now that you’re a grownup (or becoming one), how far off was your idea of adult life?

When I was a teenager, one could hardly wait for adulthood.  Yes, people told me, enjoy your youth while you can, but I always saw adulthood as being somehow better – more freedom, less rules, more fun – that you can do whatever you want whenever you want.

I turned 18 in 1979, 35 years ago.  I can honestly say now, that 35 years of adulthood has shown me that with freedom also comes responsibility (not just doing your homework, either, but real life important stuff).  There aren’t less rules, probably more of them.  Sure, I can stay out till 3 in the morning, but where and with whom and is it safe, and will I be able to handle my workload the next day because I’ll be exhausted from getting less than 6 hours of sleep?

More fun – sure, I was able to do things I couldn’t do as kid, but I still have the responsibility of my own children, babysitters, having to stay home if they were sick, etc.  Or maybe, I couldn’t do as many things because my money wasn’t solely spent for me (as my teenage babysitting money was) and what I wanted, but as an adult I had rent, electric, medical bills, car payments, food, school supplies, clothes for the kids, furniture, etc.

So, how far off was my idea  – I’d have to say way off.

Recently, I saw a video of my grandson who is almost 2, just dancing away to Burnin Down the House – just because he felt like it, one night or weekend at home with mom and dad – just felt like dancing and he did.

That’s what I want now, to be a kid again.  To be able to sing, or dance, or laugh when I feel like it.  But, there are conventions, morals, professional appearance, “knowing how to act”, etc.

But, I guess, if I wait a few more years, I’ll enter in those senior years where it is slightly more acceptable to do those things, as a kid, sing when you want, dance when you want.  The only draw back is people believe you are going senile or perhaps have Alzheimer’s.  In other words, they will feel like they have to look out for you because you are acting like a kid again.

I feel like there’s a moral to this story, but I can’t figure out what it is… Anybody?

5 thoughts on “I don’t want to grow up”

  1. I dance and sing when I feel like it, It’s fun. When I feel things building up-I used to swim-but dancing does the same thing, get the family to join in if you can 🙂
    Sometimes we get so caught up with ‘stuff’ we don’t know what we enjoy anymore. I’m so glad you remember. Silliness is underrated.

Leave a Reply

