Musical Marker

We all have songs that remind us of specific periods and events in our lives. Twenty years from now, which song will remind you of the summer of 2014?

This is terrible.  I can’t think of one, and I love music.

I can, however, remember the weekend after my grandson was born in 2012, my husband had brought up my laptop, and on a whim, I downloaded Hootie and the Blowfish greatest hits.  I had owned it on cassette tape but no longer had a cassette player.

After he left with my teenage daughter, that Sunday night, finally getting slightly settled in with a 5 day old newborn, all visitors having left, I had a few minutes to check email and download that CD.  I had iTunes because we had a Shuffle I won through some contest I don’t remember entering, my daughter had an iPod and a Nano.  So, through iTunes, at that time, I started listening with my headphone on.   When “Time” came on, perhaps the events of the week, lack of sleep, stress, and now relief, I started crying something fierce.  That happens every now and again when I write a post these days.  There have been a few of those so far.

I don’t know if I was crying for the words, or the week, or being a Grandma now, time passing, getting older, fatigue – I just remember those moments like it was yesterday.  Every time now that I hear “Time”, I think of that moment.

Soon, very soon, I’ll be Grandma again.  Maybe I’ll listen to a certain CD, or hear a song on the radio on the way up to Chicago to see her for the first time.   I’ll also be going up there August 17 to stay with them for the week and help out with the new baby.

I’ll let you know when I hear that song.  Yes, I’ll be taking my laptop with me.

And, then, now now, then – that will be the song I remember the summer of 2014 by.

Leave a Reply

