Don’t cross the streams

From the Top

Today, write about any topic you feel like — but you must reuse your opening line (at least) two more times in the course of your post.

“Don’t cross the streams!”

Remember that line from Ghostbusters?

Ghostbusters (1984) Poster

Ghostbusters (1984)

Quotes

Dr. Egon Spengler: There’s something very important I forgot to tell you.

Dr. Peter Venkman: What?

Dr. Egon Spengler: Don’t cross the streams.

Dr. Peter Venkman: Why?

Dr. Egon Spengler: It would be bad.

Dr. Peter Venkman: I’m fuzzy on the whole good/bad thing. What do you mean, “bad”?

Dr. Egon Spengler: Try to imagine all life as you know it stopping instantaneously and every molecule in your body exploding at the speed of light.

Dr Ray Stantz: Total protonic reversal.

Dr. Peter Venkman: Right. That’s bad. Okay. All right. Important safety tip. Thanks, Egon.

So, I’m quilting along today, doing little quilt sandwiches which will be diaper changing pads, and I come to a point where I have no choice but to go back over an area which I already quilted.  This, in the quilting world, is “bad”.  No, maybe it’s not “Total Protonic Reversal”, but there seems to be something “bad” about crossing your meandering lines.

I came to the point and said “Oh darn, I’m crossing my meander line!”  I hope I don’t disintegrate!  Well, I didn’t, so I figured, it’s probably not that big of a deal.  After all, I’m still here.  My changing pad didn’t dissolve before my eyes, and when I looked at the finished product, I figured, “no one will probably ever notice!”

So, fellow free-motion quilters, don’t sweat it!  “Don’t cross the streams”  or in this case, your free-motion meander line, “life as you know it stopping instantaneously and every molecule in your body exploding at the speed of light” will not actually happen, and probably, no one will ever notice that you did this on your place mat, baby quilt, full size or queen size quilt.  Seriously, don’t sweat this, it’s not that “bad”.


Q-Tip # I forgot – It’s okay to cross the streams, or meander lines.

 

 

Leave a Reply

