Have no fear, Underdog is here!

Daily Prompt

How would your life be different if you were incapable of feeling fear? Would your life be better or worse than it is now?

Well, isn’t this an interesting topic.   I’ll bet most people would say yes, but I wonder, if you really think about it, it’s hard to say whether your life would be better or worse. Let’s just take one example, and it could potentially apply to every other fear.

If I was incapable of fear, I would be a lot more trusting of doctors, which may or may not be a good thing.  I don’t know a lot, but I know enough to know that sometimes, the doctor isn’t always right.   Most people look at modern medicine as science, but I look at it more like an experiment.  What is that you say? An experiment? Yes, like I said, I don’t know a lot, but I know enough to make me leary.  You can look up any of the number of things that medicine has been wrong about.   There are so many examples, it’s not even funny.

  • Birthing – it’s so “dangerous” that the C-section rate now is 32.8% – but it doesn’t need to be.  See here. A lot of this is caused by modern medicine’s attitude towards the “patient”, interventions, maybe even insurance. And, no, this rate has not improved infant health and outcome, it actually makes it worse.
  • Cholesterol in your diet causing more cholesterol in your blood thereby causing heart disease – yeah, no, it doesn’t.  It’s probably caused by more grains, plant oil and sugar.
  • HIV and AIDS.  I just watched a video last week about HIV and AIDS called “House of Numbers“.  Now, I didn’t check all the facts and figures, but if any of what they say is true, science or medicine has been wrong.

Well, there you go, and that’s just the tip of the iceberg.  So, it’s possible, I could be healthier or much sicker if I trusted doctors more.  I’m sure I’d have more medical bills.

So, I can’t say for sure that my life would be better or worse.  I do know a lot of things now that I do or don’t do because of fear of something.  Fear is a necessary part of life – fear is a good thing, as long as you don’t have too much of it.  Your “gut instinct” can tell you when to get out of a situation that could be harmful.

But, in reality, today, there is a lot of fear mongering, and it leaves one feeling like you need to be on high alert at all times, which is really not a good thing for your health and happiness.

With that, I’m going to go have me some pot roast.

P.S. I feel like this wasn’t my best post ever.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Have no fear, Underdog is here!”

  1. Totally agree with you Sue. (Not about the quality of your post, I hasten to add.) It concerns me how some people I know take medical advice without question. Lucky I used the internet to get the latest advice on cholesterol before I gave up eggs. I was startled by the c-section rate in your country and found my own was 31% (in 2007). The world is going mad! The threat of litigation is behind it I think. A lot of smaller country hospitals here no longer have birthing facilities, one has to go to a regional centre. My mother was born in her mother’s bed. 😀

  2. They haven’t shown that eating cholesterol increases the cholesterol in your blood. I considered a home birth a couple times, probably would have been fine. But, yeah, when I reread this post before posting, it sounded choppy.

    1. For decades they did think eating cholesterol high foods put one at risk. It’s only recent the change of opinion has filtered through.

      I thought your post was fine, not choppy. 😀

Leave a Reply

