Eternal Sunshine of the Quilter’s Mind

Daily

If you could paint your current mood onto a canvas, what would that painting look like? What would it depict?

Sometimes, I have so many ideas for quilts, I can’t sew them up fast enough.  It seems that I can come up with a lot more ideas than I actually have time to do.

It’s one of the reasons I don’t subscribe to quilt magazines – more ideas, I don’t need them.  I have a few of mom’s quilt books, and occasionally, when looking for a something specific to finish a project or looking for a layout idea, I’ll browse through them.  I try to focus only on the current project, but there are so many interesting patterns and designs – and that isn’t even mentioning all the neat fabrics at JoAnn’s.

I’ve looked at all of the 365 free-motion designs on Leah Day’s site, and done quite a few of them on those old quilt throw blocks. Even so, I still search for other designs that will work for an all over meander, but I try not to use basic stippling too much.

So, when I am in a real creative mood, or have free time with no other plans, I can have many ideas, and even though I have a small journal book to keep my ideas in, sometimes, they come so fast and furious, I know I’ll never have time to do all these things.

Sometimes, I am doing a large quilt and working for hours at the machine free-motioning, that when I close my eyes to go to sleep, I am still meandering in my mind.

And, of course, sometimes, I wake up with that really brilliant idea, and forget to jot it down.

So, what is a quilter’s mind like? It’s full of churn dash, nine patch, Texas star, North Carolina Lily, bear claws, Sunbonnet Sue, calicos, gingham, stars and stripes, drunkard’s paths, four patch, card tricks, Dresden plates, half-square triangles, stippling meanders, feathers, flowers, mariner’s compass, curved safety pins, cotton batting, spray starch, Irish chains, bow ties, pinwheels, storm at sea, sashing, border, binding, thread, Grandmother’s fan and flower garden, maple leaves, hexagons, squares, and yardage calculations.

And, sometimes, an idea for a quilt that has perhaps never been done before – so it takes some time to figure out how to do it.  That’s where I am now with an idea.  Someday, I’ll figure it out.

As you can see, a quilter’s mind is truly a WIP, UFO, and it’s own work of art.


Q-tip#20 – Don’t have too many projects at once – or do. . .

 

3 thoughts on “Eternal Sunshine of the Quilter’s Mind”

  1. The description of your mind made me smile. When I was obsessed with family history I would have related stuff clogging my brain when I awoke of a morning. When I’m in full writing mode I have scenes from my novel playing non-stop in my head. It’s the subconscious at work on the creative mind. It will map out your new idea for you one day, it will all fall into place. The journal is a great idea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

