Necessary Taste

Daily Prompt

You have to choose one flavor that your sense of taste will no longer be able to distinguish. Sweet, sour, bitter, salty, umami, spicy (not a taste per se, but we’re generous): which one do you choose to lose?

Well, this daily prompt is interesting, and of course, I have my own personal slant on this topic.

Knowing what I know about our sense of taste, which isn’t much, I feel it is fairly easy to eliminate one to lose.

Sweet, sour and bitter are necessary.  When human beings were foraging and became nomadic, they had to try out foods a tiny bit at a time to make sure it wasn’t poisonous.  Sweet things are usually not harmful.  Sour and bitter things are more likely to be, though we all know that’s not always the case.  So, technically speaking, these tastes are necessary, or at least were, for survival.

I love salt, mageuritas with salt, pretzels, potato chips – take salt away, and I think my joy of eating will take a complete nosedive. So, nope, not that one.

Spicy is nicey, but could I live without it?  Now, if you are talking about all spices, not just “hot” ones, I’d have to say, no to this one, as well.  I love parsley, dill, pepper, chives, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, even starting liking cayenne, which I hated when I lived in New Orleans.

Now, umami, yes, I looked it up, sounds interesting, and perhaps I would miss it, but since I never knew what it was until today, I’d have to pick this.

I do know that my brother, who underwent chemo, said that for a long time after, food had no taste.   I can’t imagine what that is like, but I have to think pretty awful.  So, let’s just not mess with my taste buds and we’ll all be happy, right?

5 thoughts on “Necessary Taste”

  1. I’ve been having onion sandwiches lately to give my taste buds a thrill. And I hate going without salt since I went on high blood pressure meds. I almost welcome the odd calf muscle cramp which surely means I need salt, so I go for it! Enjoyed your tale, Sue. 🙂

  2. We cannot live without sweetness and we cannot avoid salt; I guess either we can bid a farewell to sour or to bitter. I can live without bitter, I think it is not better 😀
    Well thanks for sharing thoughts, I agree!

Leave a Reply

