Your voice will find you

Writing 101, Day 15 – You’re told that an event that’s dear to your heart — an annual fair, festival, or conference — will be cancelled forever (or taken over by an evil organization). Write about it. For your twist, read your piece aloud, multiple times. Hone that voice of yours!

I think I’ve done a pretty good job so far of finding my voice.  As a matter of fact, most posts I put up, I read aloud before I post them, just to be sure of spelling, punctuation, and flow.

Onto the topic at hand.

I can’t think of an annual event, fair, festival or conference that I frequent every year, that I would miss if it were gone or taken over, except the Mount Olive Homecoming. The chances of that being cancelled are slim to none, so it’s kind of hard to imagine. I don’t know if the parades are as long as before, but the town carnival seems fairly safe and secure for at least another 50 years, till the town reaches it’s 200th anniversary.

Once again, I am trying to figure out how to stay on the topic of quilting, so I guess I’ll have to go with the quilting group that used to meet every Tuesday at our home town church to quilt.   In actuality, the group no longer meets.  Too many of the members passed away,  or my Mom had more to do with keeping it going than I knew, but two years after she died, in 2010, they quit getting together.

It wasn’t taken over by anything evil, except I suppose, lack of interest, not so many of the younger members showing an interest in the art of hand quilting.  Perhaps what did the group in was that they weren’t keeping up with the times.  Machine quilting hasn’t completely taken over the entire quilting world, but it has picked up a lot of steam in the past two decades.

I was sad to hear that the group didn’t meet anymore.  I would have liked to have gone, but I’m a working gal, and taking off every Tuesday just wasn’t possible.    I visited a couple times, and I remember Mom telling jokes that the lady’s would share with each other, surprisingly, some of them were kind of dirty.

Even though I didn’t pay that much attention, I do miss the pictures Mom used to show me of the quilts they were working on or that were finished.  I found one of them today while going through a bin of old pictures from Dad’s house.  On the back, the developed date was July 6, 1999, and this written “#17 Quilt out”.  So, I guess that means they could typically do about 35 quilts a  year, not an excessive number, but nothing to sneeze at, either. And, here it is:

image

The pattern is a basic Nine Patch, obviously a scrappy number.  I don’t know why, but I really like the Nine Patch.  I want to make one of those someday.

Since I started quilting, by machine of course, I have seen a few hand-quilted quilts, and I have to say, there is something different about the stitching and the look of the quilt.  Maybe it’s less quilting, I don’t know.  But something about them just seems softer, for lack of a better word.

Even though I have tried hand quilting several times and really get frustrated with the learning curve and lack of finger dexterity I think I should have, sometimes I wish I was a hand quilter. And, therein lies the rub.  Machine quilting is pretty much a one person thing.  I can do that by myself.  I can and did teach myself with the help of YouTube, books, and other videos.  Hand quilting can be done alone, but it went so much faster and was so much more a social event to have groups or quilting bees, and I’m sure it made learning the art that much simpler, too.

Who knew that the quilt your Grandma made you and hand quilted in the 70’s would one day be a treasured heirloom because it was done by a method that became an extremely limited art form. I didn’t see that one coming.  It makes me wonder if quilting in general will one day be extinct.  I sure hope not.

 

2 thoughts on “Your voice will find you”

  1. Quilting is popular here in Australia and in no danger of dying out anytime soon. It is a very soothing, if time-consuming, activity. I’ve only ever quilted a few samplers, by machine and one by hand, decades ago. I prefer the sewing machine as I usually keep stabbing myself with the needle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

