The Serial Killer – Finding something

On day four, you wrote a post about losing something. Today, write about finding something. Today’s twist: if you wrote day four’s post as the first in a series, use this one as the second installment — loosely defined.

So, I went to my local computer deli, yeah, that’s what they called it, and bought a used USB keyboard for $10.  Now that I was getting into the writing habit, it was kind of hard NOT writing.  I tried it on the iPad, but I’m not into onscreen keyboards.   I learned how to type on a typewriter. As an added benefit, for you, the reader, however, because I’m now behind, I’ll be focusing on brevity, too.

So, let’s see if I can get some posts up.

On day four, I wrote about losing a quilt.  I suppose I could write about finding a quilt.  I have written a lot about things, sort of,  I “found” while cleaning dad’s house.  I was thinking about profiling by post each of my quilts. Here we go.

Dad’s quilt – While dad and I were cleaning my old room, back in 2008 after Mom died, I found something.  I was standing by an old desk, him on a kitchen chair tearing covers off magazines and telling me what to keep and what to throw out when I asked him. I found a gift box, picked it up, opened it, and peeled back the aged tissue paper.  Inside were 12 embroidered leaf blocks, 18″ size, all done in a variegated green.   I exclaimed, “Look at this!”

Dad said, “Oh, my, I wonder when she did those, I don’t remember those.”

I took them out of the box and laid them on the cluttered desk, and turned them over to see how well stitched they were, because my mom was a tidy stitcher, and I saw dates written in the seam allowances on the side of each block.  They all had a date of start and finish.

I said, “Well, it looks like she did most of them in 1966 and finished them up in 1972.  I don’t remember them either.”

But, there they were, all done, a couple had spots on them.  I don’t know how old material seems to pick up those dime size yellow or brownish stains, but they almost never come out.  One of them had what looked like a rust stain, a small arc – now who would sit a can on top of a quilt block?

Dad said, “Well, that would still make a pretty quilt.”

I lost my mind and blurted out, “Yeah, you want me to make that into a quilt top for you?”

Of course, he said yes.  And, most of the rest of the story , I have told previously.  We went to the quilt shop next time I was in town, and bought material for borders, sashing and backing.   Since I was new to this, we had the ladies at the quilt shop help us with the selection.  I came home and drew out a couple designs.  Played with it a little more, found out I didn’t have enough of one kind of material, went and bought some more fabric, and then set it aside for 4 years.

That’s when I went and got all Mom’s material, sewing and quilting stuff, bins and bins of it, brought it home, went through it all, got rid of a lot of it, and decided to finish some of Mom’s projects.  My daughter’s t-shirt quilt was first, mine second, in order of being promised.  Actually, I did mine first because I was determined that it finally be finished and I wanted Dad’s quilt to be nicer.  I needed at least one free-motion quilt under my belt before attempting his.  I figured after a couple laps blankets and my quilt, my experience would be much greater and his product would be better quality stitching.

Hindsight is 20/20 so they say.  I look at it now and I know I would do it differently, but I did get it done and presented it to him in August 2012 so he would have it for the winter.

I know now, I would have used a small colored border before the white border, but for my second quilt, it’s not too shabby – or wait, isn’t that a thing now, “shabby chic”?

I would quilt it a bit differently now, too, but again, these blocks that waited 40 years to be put into a quilt are now being displayed as they should be. I’m quite sure, regrettably, that Mom would have made a much nicer looking quilt than I did.


Q-Tip # 18 – When thinking, “I should have done this instead” looking at a finished project, don’t be too hard on yourself.  Most people, except quilters and artists, probably won’t notice.

 

Leave a Reply

