Day 14 – To Whom It May Concern

Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. If you need a boost, Google the word and see what images appear, and then go from there. 

Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

To whom it may concern,

The nearest book near to me was Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.  On page 29,  Harry and the Dursley’s were exiting the zoo, driving home, wondering where the glass holding the snake in had gone – Mr. Dursley knowing full well it must have been Harry.

The word that jumped off the page was snake.  I was thinking, how can I turn that into a post about quilting?  Then, I remembered – one of the benefits of searching eBay for unfinished quilt tops (I like to quilt more than I like to sew, I know, I know, I need a partner to piece while I quilt) is that you see many different and unique designs.

It was while doing one of my searches, I happened upon a quilt that said “snake pattern”.  I looked into this further on Google images searching “snake quilt”,  and I can’t believe how creative people are sometimes.  Try it. There are quilts with snakes laying across the quilts and their heads hanging off and tongue sticking out, one looks like a coiled stained glass, and people take grandmother’s fans and make a snake-like pattern.  This is how I decided to do my Grandma’s Grandmother’s Fan quilt.

image

I thought many of the designs made very interesting quilts.  It amazes me how something that looks so complex is really basically simple to piece.

Thank you for your time.

Oh, and here’s a quilt tip.


Q-Tip #19 – Don’t be afraid to try a new pattern because it looks complex.  It might be easier to piece than you think.

2 thoughts on “Day 14 – To Whom It May Concern”

Leave a Reply

