Best Ice Cream in the Country

If you could clone one element from another city you’ve visited — a building, a cultural institution, a common street food, etc. — and bring it back to your own hometown, what would it be?

This one is easy, but it’s not from a city I visited.  It’s from a city I lived in, or should I say, the Great State of Texas.


 

Blue Bell Ice Cream


 

Yes, I know, it’s available in other states, but that’s where I was when I discovered their Homemade Vanilla, reminded me of the homemade ice cream my mom used to make that each of us took turns at the crank to freeze up.

The Milk Chocolate is like no other chocolate ice cream.

Nobody comes close to the scald they have on their Coffee ice cream, no I don’t want no Jamocha Almond Fudge, thank you very much.

Their Cookies and Cream has great big chunks of cookies, big chunks.

Moo-lennium Crunch, Natural Vanilla Bean, Banana Split, Peaches and Homemade Vanilla, Southern Blackberry Cobbler, to name a few other great flavors.

Their commercials sing “Blue Bell, the best ice cream in the country.” and my favorite commercial saying of all time “We eat what we can and sell the rest!”

If you know me, you already know this, Blue Bunny is NOT Blue Bell!

I wonder why they are in Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Missouri, Kentucky, Tennessee, and even Indiana now, but they skipped over Illinois! WTF!

If I want, I can drive 80 miles round trip (a fur piece even by Texas standards) – to the nearest Russell Stovers and get some in their ice cream case, but I can’t really bring it home – no one in my home town sells dry ice! Or, I could visit my local Outback Steakhouse daily because they use the Homemade Vanilla for their Chocolate Thunder from Down Under(R) – which is also supposed to be a gluten free brownie, but I wonder. (hey, I rhymed!)

Hey, my sister is coming up from Missouri tomorrow, maybe I can bribe her into getting my some?

I’m thinking of starting a campaign to have it statewide by Illinois’ 200th anniversary – that’s 2018.

Seriously, if you like ice cream, you should try it.

Blue Bell’s Site

City Planners – Daily prompt

Leave a Reply

