Writing 101 – Day 6 and 7

Day 6 – Today, you’ll write about the most interesting person you’ve met in 2014. In your twist, develop and shape your portrait further in a character study.

Day 7 – Focus today’s post on the contrast between two things. The twist? Write the post in the form of a dialogue.

I’m going to cheat a little, again.  I didn’t do a character study, but if you want to find out about my sewing machine, Brother, PQ1500, here’s my “love letter” to my machine. Maybe I’ll figure out how to describe people someday.

On to give and take.  This conversation is really me talking to myself, and yes, I answer back.

“So, what do you think about Writing 101 so far?”

“Well, I wish I had a little more energy and time during the week to work on these assignments.”

“So, who don’t you work on that – maybe shorten your posts.”

“You know, I have been already.  Compared to my first three posts, the first quilt saga, everything since has been shorter.”

“So, do you think writing 101 is helping you any?”

“At first, I thought it would give me some great ideas to work off of, but I’ve really had to twist some of the topic ideas around to fit into what I consider to be the theme of this blog, quilting.”

“So, you think your blog was better without Writing 101?”

“Hmmm, I don’t know.  When I wasn’t prompted, I found myself coming up with a lot of ideas, but not taking the time to write.  Now, I kind of feel like I’m in school and have a deadline.  Even though I crammed everything into a couple days so far, I did get a few more posts up. Plus, that writing prompted me to organize and finish a couple other started post ideas.”

“Is it a goal for you to post daily?”

“Not really.  I knew it would be next to impossible to post daily from the start.  My goal was once a week.  I guess it’s hard to build a habit on something you only do once a week.  Plus, like my tagline says, “I’d rather be quilting”.  I pretty much have a quilt going all the time, now – if not my own, finishing something of Mom’s.  Still don’t have all her WIPs done. And, I have other ideas I haven’t started yet.”

“Sounds like you are awfully busy, why did you start this blog in the first place?”

“Good question.  I remember thinking about doing one after I’d only been quilting a few months.  Frankly, I did a lot of internet searches for information on quilting, and sometimes, I felt I couldn’t find exactly what I was looking for or it wasn’t easy to follow, or I’d find a piece here and a piece there on different blogs or web-sites.  But now, I can’t remember the things that frustrated me then and made me think of starting my own blog.  I guess I finally figured out, too, the only way to learn some things is by trial and error.  Also, without the internet, I’m not sure the quilter I’d be today, so I wanted to give a little back.”

“So, are you going to keep blogging?”

“Yes, I am.”

“What about Writing 101?”

“Well, I think I’m going to stick with it, maybe not each day, but definitely doing 20 posts, and, I’m still going to be putting my own twist on it  After all, if there’s one thing I’ve learned from Leah Day, Jenny Doan and quilting, it’s:


Q-Tip#15 – Do what works for you and have fun!”

 

Leave a Reply

