Writing 101 – Day 4 – The Serial Killer

Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more.

Today’s twist: Make today’s post the first in a three-post series.

Oh, dear readers, I think I may have covered this one, in great detail, already. My First Quilt saga, a three part series, my first three posts – not only covered how I got started quilting, but also the loss of my Mom and Grandma.

Whew, sorry, I’m just going to have to refer you back to those rather lengthy posts if you haven’t read them already.  Somehow the names got mixed up, but I think these are in order.

I just can’t do that again! It was a nice catharsis, but writing about a loss and making it a three-post series, I’m glad to say I’ve been there and done that!

Okay, okay, okay….. I changed my mind. Well, just a little, I promise this won’t be nearly as long as those first three 1500+ word posts!

A very long time ago, I went to university for one semester. The whys and wherefores of my dropping out are muddled now, I didn’t know the opportunity I had, and if I could go back and change part of my life, it would be that – well, maybe, because others things would not have happened that are now a big part of my life.

But, that is not this story (nor will I most likely ever tell it on this blog). This story has to do with the loss of a quilt that Mom and Grandma made for me while in college. It was a twin size in which they used scraps from my sister’s and mine old shirts, mom’s dresses, etc. I remember it had the Miller logo on it, my maiden name, and the backing was a white material with small colorful dots, stars and yellow thumbnail moons. They also made me letter pillows in my name with the backing material and to which I found the pattern for when cleaning Dad’s house, and now can’t remember where that pattern is (lost?, no but where is it? I’m sure I kept it, at least I think I did, didn’t I?).

I know I had this quilt for years and my kids also used it, and the pillows, too, but in all the moves   – from 1980 to 2004, 18 times – it got lost. Or did it get torn up and I threw it out? Surely I would never have thrown away a quilt. Or was in a box that was supposed to be put on the truck but made it to the trash pile instead? I don’t know. I’ll never know. Did I give it to one of the kids as they left home and they still have it unbeknownst to me?  How could I lose track of a quilt – not some store bought thing – but something made by my mother and grandmother?

It’s not like I sit and dwell on it, but from time to time, I feel that twinge of loss and angst for not knowing the fate of this hand-made treasure. (like right now)

In my recent review of quilt items finished by mom, or should I say started by her, I found one piece, one block, that reminds me of this old quilt.  The red and blue print blocks are our old shirts. The blue and yellow striped is my mom’s dress.  The white was part of a dress I wore when I was 10.  No one wanted this block, so I still have it, and now, suppose, I should keep it to remember that old quilt by.

Quilt block Miller


 Q-Tip #10 – Treasure quilts made for you and take care of them – you could regret it later if you don’t.

 

 

Leave a Reply

