Quilter’s Blog, Stardate 2014.149

My ship seems to be caught in the gravitational pull of a far off comet, a distant planet, a strange nebula, or possibly approaching a black hole. The effects are unusual and discomforting. I thought perhaps these occurrences were because of trying to patchwork piece my first queen size quilt top. Yes, I’ve done other patchwork, smaller quilts and throws. I’ve done queen size quilts, but never with this many pieces.

It all started with accepting a task I knew was almost impossible, considering I also work a part-time job. Cut, sew, piece and quilt a queen size quilt in 10 days. I must have taken leave of my senses to accept the challenge, to boldly go where no man or woman had often gone before.

I found a suitable pattern, a seemingly simple double four patch, was provided the materials, and with pattern in hand, sat down to do further figuring as I did remember the Golden Rule – Measure (for me, figure) twice, and cut once. After a day or so, I had my drawing and all the calculations had been made. I started cutting. This task went fairly smoothly, though a bit time consuming, and I was ready to start sewing.

This is where the problems began. First, I decided to deviate from the pattern and piece things together in a different fashion. I didn’t see the error in this until I had all my blocks and started sewing into rows. My mind couldn’t seem to handle the juxtaposition. The pattern was the same, I was just piecing it slightly differently.

But, it was even before that I noticed things amiss. My sewing machine which is supposed to be able to do 1500 stitches per minute couldn’t seem to handle the warp 5 speed I could attain while strip piecing. The gears locked up solid. I oiled generously and forged on.

Quite a few strips later, it did it again. I oiled again, even more than before. I don’t know why this happened as I get a reminder from my handheld communication device and mini computer to oil it twice a month, which I do religiously when I am using it.

Still, I continued and then noticed oil spitting out the top of the needle shaft while running at warp 5. So, I slowed down to no more than warp 3 and have not again experienced this problem.

I’ve ironed seams the wrong way, pieced things upside down, and even sewed a whole strip on backwards. My iron, less than a year old, has taken to spitting water and white residue. What can this strange substance be? It appears to be harmless and washes out easily.

My crew – ah, yes – they seemed to have vanished, or were they ever really there? Somewhere in the distance, or in my possibly possessed mind, I hear Scotty shout “I just can’t do it, Captain, I don’t have the power!” and Spock calmly states, “It’s highly illogical” unemotionally, of course.

My seam ripper seems to be my only ally. With that, I shall return to rip out another faulty seam and hope that soon, this ship will be able to break free of these disturbing forces.

Q-Tip #6 – Mistakes can usually be remedied and can always be useful learning tools.

Quilter Sue – Over and out

Leave a Reply

