A brief interlude or Fanfare

Folks, I had to break from my so called storyline to write a few words  about my latest project.  I’m doing this on the iPad, so it should be brief.

Amongst the items I found at Mom’s house was a box with a bunch of 5″ Grandmother’s fan blocks.  Although I’m not certain, I believe my Grandmother did them.  I have a fan quilt I know she made in the 30’s or 40’s, because Mom had it in a bag with a card saying who made it and when.  These blocks I found are exactly like the blocks in the finished quilt only 1/2 inch smaller and with pink as the bottom part of the fan instead of peach. Words can not do this quilt justice, so here it is.

image

 

For over two years, these blocks have been in the back of my mind as a project I desperately want to complete.   I worked on washing these little blocks hoping to remove some of the stains and yellowing and embroidered the edges of  some of the blocks that had the fan basted on but not finished.   I also made many other quilts, seeming always to have some other project that needed to be finished before I could get on to this one.

 

Finally, there has been a lull, and I was able to come up with a couple designs and make a decision on the pattern.  I have now completed sewing half of the quilt top together and proceeded to lay the rest out on my bed so I could make the stacks of blocks to sew.

 

Many nights, I browse eBay looking at vintage quilt tops, even bidding on a few. I haven’t won any yet.  I must have good taste because the ones I bid on usually go for more than I can afford.  For me, there’s something about finishing a project that started 20, 30, 40, or 50 or more years ago.

 

As I viewed this laid out display, tears came to my eyes, out of the blue and a bit unexpected, but not because of the breathtaking design, though it is.  Even though I have a few more vintage quilt tops of my Mom’s to finish, this is the only one of my Grandmother’s projects I get to complete and who even knows when it was started?  Despite the fact that I’m still not 100% sure they were her blocks, I feel connected to her as I’m sewing, and know I will also as I’m quilting it.

 

Perhaps you, too, can feel connected by this preview:

 

image

 

 

I don’t care about spots, stains, or yellowing. This is going to be a beautiful quilt. And somewhere in the quilting, I’ll place the words, “In Memory of, and partially made by, my Grandmother, Clara Niemann.”

 

QTip#4 – Quilting can be emotional.

5 thoughts on “A brief interlude or Fanfare”

Leave a Reply

